A Voice for the Unheard

  1. Home
  2.  → 
  3. Employment Law
  4.  → Denial Of Medical Leave

Maryland’s Medical Leave Policies

Maryland goes beyond federal sick leave requirements. In 2018, the state passed the Healthy Working Families Act that requires most employers to provide sick leave. It requires all private employers, as well as local and state government agencies, to provide sick leave. The one exception is very small companies.

If a company has 15 or more employees (including full-time, part-time, temporary and seasonal workers), it must provide paid sick and safe leave. Employers with 14 or fewer workers must provide sick and safe leave but it may be unpaid. If your company meets those standards and denied your medical leave, call the experienced attorneys at Bennett & Ellison, P.C.. We will be your trusted allies in any employment law issues you face.

Who Is Eligible For Paid Medical Leave?

The new law states that all employees, with a few exceptions, are eligible for paid sick leave. You are not eligible if you work less than 12 hours a week, are under the age of 18 or you are employed by a temp agency.

There are also exceptions for independent contractors, construction workers who work under a collective bargaining agreement, those who work as-needed in the health and human services industry and agriculture workers.

Sick Time And The Family And Medical Leave Act

If you have sick time, you can use it for a many reasons. However, your employer can require you to provide proof that you are using the leave time for a covered purpose. These purposes may include:

  • Care for your (or a family member’s) injuries or condition, including mental or physical illness
  • Maternity/paternity leave
  • Preventative care for yourself or a family member
  • Services for domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) guarantees certain employees up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave every year. Your employer must maintain your health insurance during this time. FMLA only applies to employers with at least 50 employees for 20 weeks a year. To be eligible, you must have worked for the company for at least a year.

Call A Lawyer If Your Employer Illegally Denied Your Medical Leave

If your company meets the criteria discussed above and they denied your leave in Maryland, you can file a legal claim against them. A claim allows you to receive pay for the employer’s illegal actions and hold them accountable for their actions. Contact us today at 410-886-7457 or through our online contact form.